St. Luke's University Health Network

News

    • St Lukes Hospital - Miners Campus Accredited by American Association of Diabetes Educators

St Lukes Hospital - Miners Campus Accredited by American Association of Diabetes Educators

St. Luke's Hospital - Miners Campus Accredited by American Associaiton of Diabetes Educators (AADE)

Nesquehoning, PA (6/8/2012) - The St. Luke’s Hospital - Miners Campus Diabetes Education Center was recently accredited by the American Association of Diabetes Educators.

This designation allows local residents increased access to critical diabetes education services, according to Hollie Gibbons, MPH, RD, Coordinator of the St. Luke’s Hospital - Miners Campus Diabetes Education Center. “This national certification provides our team a standard by which we measure the quality of the programs and services we provide,” she said. “The result of this standardized education is that each patient receives high-quality service, care and education.”

The Program Director of the Accreditation Program of the American Association of Diabetes Educators agrees. “Trends show that diabetes education is moving out of the hospital and into the community so AADE’s accreditation program was created, in part, to encourage diabetes education where the patient is seeking care,” said Leslie E. Kolb, RN, BSN, MBA. “The St. Luke’s Miners Hospital’s Diabetes Education Center is exactly the type of program we envisioned when we set up our accreditation program in 2009.”

Diabetes education is a collaborative process through which people who have been diagnosed with diabetes or who are considered at risk for diabetes are provided the knowledge and skills needed to modify behavior and successfully self-manage the disease and its related conditions. The educational classes are provided by diabetes educators and may involve a patient’s family to incorporate lifestyle changes into the family dynamic.

St. Luke’s Hospital - Miners Campus Diabetes Education Center, located at 44 West Catawissa Street, Nesquehoning, will be offering a series of diabetes education classes throughout the year. Patients will need a physician’s referral and need to register by calling 570-669-9868 for the classes at the following community locations:

July 9 - 11 am Monday, July 9
Wednesday, July 11
Monday, July 16
Wednesday, July 18
St. Luke’s McAdoo Rural Health Center at 14 N. Kennedy Drive (Rt 309) in McAdoo
August 6 - 8 pm Monday, August 6
Wednesday, August 8
Monday, August 1
Wednesday, August 15
Lehigh Carbon Community College’s Scheller Center, 234 High Street, Tamaqua
September 9 - 11 am Monday, September 10
Wednesday, September 12
Monday, September 17
Wednesday, September 19
St Luke’s Sports & Rehabilitation, 693 Route 903 in Jim Thorpe
October 6 - 8 pm Monday, October 8
Wednesday, October 10
Monday, October 15
Wednesday, October 17
Panther Valley Public Library, 17 E Bertsch Street in Lansford
November 9 – 11 am Monday, November 5
Wednesday, November 7
Monday, November 12
Wednesday, November 14
Office of State Rep. Doyle Heffley, The Annex building, 110 N. 3rd St. in Lehighton

Contact Information

Denise E. Rader
Director, Network Media Relations
St. Luke's University Health Network
484-526-4104

Editor’s Note: for interviews with Hollie, please contact Denise Rader at 484-526-4104.